Khmer Scholars

Home » Scholarship » Postdoctoral » TWAS-CNPq Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme

TWAS-CNPq Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme

ភាសា Language

ភាសាខ្មែរ English
If you cannot read our site in Khmer, please install KhmerUnicode into your computer.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 319 other followers


RSS Network’s Activities

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS International scholarships

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
January 2011
« Dec   Feb »

Blog Stats

  • 253,440 hits

Visiting countries

free counters

For young scientists from developing countries (other than Brazil) who wish to pursue postdoctoral research in the natural sciences in Brazil though the National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq), Brasilia, Brazil.

Programme Details

TWAS-CNPq Postdoctoral Fellowships are tenable at research institutions in Brazil for a minimum period of six months to a maximum period of twelve months. They are awarded to scientists from developing countries (other than Brazil) to enable them to pursue postdoctoral research in the natural sciences.

An Excel worksheet list of research institutions in Brazil where TWAS-CNPq Fellowships are tenable (CAPES-Conceito 5, 6 and 7) is available for download here: CAPES_inst_2008.xls.

CNPq will provide a standard monthly allowance which should be used to cover living costs, such as accommodation, food and health insurance. The monthly stipend will not be convertible into foreign currency.

Information about living conditions, such as possibilities of accommodation, transportation, and any other issues related to the candidate’s stay in Brazil must be obtained locally, directly from the host institution. Neither TWAS nor CNPq can provide this information.

The research activities are developed in Portuguese in most institutions, but communication will be mainly in English.


Applicants for these fellowships must meet the following criteria:

Be a maximum age of 45 years on 31 December of the application year.

Be permanent residents in a developing country (other than Brazil).
Hold a Ph.D degree in a field of the natural sciences.

Be a regular employee in a developing country (other than Brazil) and hold a research assignment there.

Provide evidence that s/he will return to her/his home country on completion of the fellowship.

Not take up other assignments during the period of her/his fellowship.

Provide an official acceptance letter from the host institution (please refer to the sample available at Only CAPES-listed (levels 5, 6 or 7) Brazilian institutions are eligible (see point 2 above).

Prove knowledge of Portuguese or provide a certificate of proficiency in Spanish or English (if these languages are not the candidate’s mother tongue).

Have an updated Curriculum Vitae on CNPq’s Lattes Platform.

Present a detailed research plan agreed by her/his host supervisor.

Be financially responsible for any accompanying family members.

Submitting your application

From this year, all applications to the TWAS-CNPq Fellowships programmes must be submitted online only.

The call for applications where you will find the programme details, eligibility criteria, required documents and certificates as well as the online application form is available at

Applicants must be aware that CNPq and TWAS will not accept applications submitted by any other means except via the online application form.

The deadline for receipt of applications is 13 August. No applications will be accepted after this date. Therefore, it is recommended to submit your electronic application as early as possible.

Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

Applicants should submit the Acceptance Letter from a CAPES-listed institution to CNPq when applying. Without preliminary acceptance, the application will not be considered for selection.

Queries concerning the call for applications to the TWAS-CNPq Fellowships programmes should be directed to:

Applicants should be aware that they can apply for only one fellowship per year. With the exception of the fellowships “for research collaboration”, all other fellowship programmes offered by TWAS and TWOWS that are mutually exclusive.

Contact Details

TWAS Fellowships Office
ICTP Campus, Strada Costiera 11
34151 Trieste, Italy
Phone: +39 040 2240-314
Fax: +39 040 2240-689

National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq)
International Cooperation Office (ASCIN)
SEPN 507, Bloco “B”, Sala 303
Ed. Sede CNPq
70740-901 Brasília, DF
Phone: +55 61 2108-9440
Fax: +55 61 2108-9442



  1. Excellent post!! Very informative and easy to understand. Looking for more such posts!!

  2. claudio Gumane Francisco Juizo says:

    i want to be notified about all the fellowship programs.

  3. Hira Manzoor says:

    Sir,how to register for a doctoral program in natural sciences rather than postdoctrol,in the univs listed in the Capes list.Whats the methodology.Please help.Am very very much confused.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Copyright 2006-2010 Khmer Scholars
%d bloggers like this: